One of the most distinguished, award-winning marketing, management, and sales strategists in the world today, Robert has helped merchandise more than $20 billion of residential, resort, retail, recreational, commercial, institutional, industrial, and governmental real estate, as well as other business products and services.

Founder and president of North Star Synergies, Inc., an executive business development strategy firm, Robert specializes in management, marketing, and sales consulting in the real estate industry and beyond. He created the Denver-based, international firm in April 2011 after 28 years of outstanding executive business development with S. Robert August & Co, Inc.

Robert's biggest honor is The William "Bill" Molster Award, given to the most outstanding sales and marketing professional in the nation by the NAHB, the nation's leading building trade association of 150,000-plus companies. Robert is the only recipient to win the Molster Award twice (1996, 2002).

Robert's most recent awards include the Home Builders Association of Metro Denver 2013 Legends Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sales and Marketing, the 2014 Master Certified Sales Professional of the Year, awarded by the NAHB's National Sales and Marketing Council, and the 2014 NAHB Leader in Membership Retention and Recruitment. This year, Robert was recognized as the 2015 NAHB Sales and Marketing Educator of the Year.

Past honors include: The Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Denver's Sales and Marketing Director of the Year in 1979, again in 1980, and its Man of the Year in 1982. In 1982, he was also recognized by the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) as the National Marketing Director of the Year. In 1998, Robert was the Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Denver's Associate of the Year, for outstanding contributions to the home building industry on the local, state and national levels. In 2011, Robert received the Trina Ripley Excellence in Education Award for outstanding lifetime achievement in educating new home sales and marketing professionals from the NAHB National Sales and Marketing Council's Institute of Residential Marketing.

Robert was also named Economic Developer of the Year (1979), Marketeer of the Year (1981) by the Metro North Chamber of Commerce in Denver. He received The President's Award (2002) from the Colorado Association of Home Builders, and was recognized by the International Real Estate Trade Organization for his contribution and devotion to the real estate industry (2005). Robert helped establish the Adams County Economic Council and founded both the Douglas County Economic Development Council and the Teller County Economic Development Council. He was honored for his work in founding the Sales and Marketing Council of the Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Colorado Springs, which was named Best New SMC in the nation for 1983.

Robert also created and developed the first centralized Parade of Homes for the Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Denver in 1986, which was awarded #1 Public Relations Campaign by the NAHB. This event has since become nationally renowned as the industry model.

Robert is Past Chairman of the Sales and Marketing Councils of the Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Denver and Colorado Springs . He also served 19 years as Public Affairs Chairman and member of the Board of Directors for the Colorado Association of Home Builders. Robert has earned a Master in Residential Marketing (MIRM) and is a member and Past President of the Institute of Residential Marketing, an exclusive organization representing the country's leading sales and marketing professionals. In 2008, Robert was inducted into the Institute of Residential Marketing College of Fellows. Robert is Past Chairman of the National Sales and Marketing Council (NSMC) of the NAHB. He is certified by the NAHB Education Department as one of four Master Train the Trainers nationwide, and is also certified to teach 12 NAHB management, marketing and sales courses.

He is a nationally recognized leader in membership recruitment and retention, advertisement, and sponsorship sales for the NAHB totaling more than $60 million in sales. Today, Robert ranks as the third all-time membership recruiter among millions, with 2,854.75 spike credits. He was recently acknowledged as the 2014 Spike of the Year among 16,000 recruiters.

Robert serves as a Board of Director for Environmental Service Professionals, a mold and moisture inspection management concern. He also serves on the Board of Directors of UVAIRx, a manufacturer of healthy indoor air quality products.

Robert is past member of the National Association of Real Estate Editors. He is a regularly published contributor to Builder-Architect Magazine, the NAHB's NSMC Sales & Marketing Ideas, and has co-authored the book Marketing for Remodelers: Building Business Leads.

Robert has a B.A. in Labor-Management Relations from Pennsylvania State University and a Master of International Management from Thunderbird School of Global Management in Glendale, Arizona. He serves as an Adjunct Professor at the University of Denver's Daniels College of Business.

Robert and his best friend, Penny, have been married for 43 years. They have two incredible sons, Jason and Alan.

Honorees 1992 – 2015

Hal & Jim Lynch – RecreActions Group of Companies
General William Lyon – Wm. Lyon Homes
John Martin – MMDC, Inc.
Ian McCarthy – Beazer Homes
David Miles – Milesbran
Ira Norris – Inco Homes
Jorge Perez – The Related Group
William Pulte – Pulte Homes
Thomas Richey, MIRM – Richey Resources
Van Rose Jr. – Rose & Womble Realty
Arthur Rutenberg – Rutenberg Homes
William Ryan Jr. – Ironhart Communities
Gary Ryness – The Ryness Company
John Schleimer, MIRM – Market Perspectives
Bob Schultz – New Home Specialists
Bert Selva – Shea Homes
William R. Smolkin, MIRM – Hebert/Smolkin Associates
Dave Stone, MIRM – The Stone Institute
Robert Strudler – US Home Corporation
Robert & Bruce Toll – Toll Brothers
W. Lawrence Webb, MIRM – John Laing Homes
David Weekley, MIRM – David Weekley Homes
John Weiland, MIRM – John Wieland Homes
Jack Willome – Ray Ellison Home

Kenneth W. Agid – The Marketing Department
Adrienne Albert, MIRM  – The Marketing Directors
Al & Jim Baldwin – The Baldwin Company
Doug Bauer – TRI Pointe Homes
William E. Becker, MIRM – The William E. Becker Organization
Barry Berkus, AIA – B3 Architects Planners
Andrew Brethour – PMA Brethour Group
William R. Bone – Sunrise Colony Company
Larry Cannarelli – American West Homes
Bill Conner – Conner Development
William (Bill) Davidson – Davidson Communities
Philip Dion - Del Webb Corp.
Ralph Drees – Drees Homes
Richard Elkman, MIRM – Group Two Advertising
Timothy Eller – Centex Homes
Sanford Goodkin, MIRM – Goodkin & Associates
Lester Goodman, MIRM – Prudential New Homes
Alan Green – The Green Company
Andrew Greenman, MIRM – Greenman Group
Keith Johnson & Peter Ochs – Fieldstone Company
Kevork Hovnanian – K. Hovnanian Companies
Bruce Karatz – Kaufman& Broad Homes
Randall Lewis – Lewis Homes
Daniel R. Levitan, MIRM – Levitan & Associates